Living a Life Unexpected

Conquering a Fear Today!!

on September 4, 2014

So, in my last post I listed all those things that I never dreamed I would be doing and that list could keep going on for a VERY long time, but today I am going to tell you about something that I did a lot in the states that until today I could not seem to do here.

DRIVE!!!

Okay, yes I do drive to get the boys at school or to go to the small grocery in our neighborhood, but that really does not count.  You see we live in a community where the streets are wide, there are actual lines on the road, there is very little traffic (in comparison), and most people drive like they have a brain.  This is in comparison to what goes on once you leave our community, the roads are narrow, if there are lines the people do not stay between them, there is ALWAYS traffic which includes about 500 motorbikes, 50 horse drawn carriages, 10 food carts and 20 guys with pedicabs, AND most people drive like they left their brains at home.  So, I just could not bring my self to drive in that madness and for the past almost 4 years, I have relied on my husband or awesome friends to get me to town.

While we were in the states, I made a promise to myself that I would conquer this paralyzing fear and learn to drive before we returned again to the states.  If for no other reason than what would I do if there was an emergency and I HAD to go to town and no one was available to help me?  Today, I drove to town for the first time!!!  To say that I was nervous is the understatement of the century, but Trey and some very brave friends rode with me and NO ONE DIED!!!  I definitely need some more practice to get my confidence up, but I jumped a GIGANTIC hurdle today!

 YAY ME!!!!  🙂

IMG_2739

Just a side note….this picture shows kind of what traffic is like here, but I would consider this a very light traffic day!!!

2 responses to “Conquering a Fear Today!!

  1. julie says:

    So good to hear from you – love your new blog

    Like

Leave a Reply

