Living a Life Unexpected

To All My Fellow Gifts People

on October 7, 2014

While we were in the states, our (AWESOME) Sunday school class did the “Five Love Languages” study.  It was great and definitely made us all laugh hysterically, at the videos, at each other and at ourselves.  Laughter is amazing medicine!  Anyway, when it came to the part where you take the test to determine which love language you are, it was not a huge surprise to me or to Trey that I was a gifts person.  I love to get gifts and to give gifts.  Okay….STOP…before you label me as materialistic, the gifts that I cherish the most do not cost the giver a dime.  If you were to ask my family what one of my most cherished positions is, they probably would tell you my ratty red journal.  The journal in itself is not the thing that I cherish, even though I have recorded some precious memories in there.  The part that makes it so sweet to me is that tucked inside the pages are letters that friends and family have written me over the years, words of encouragement and love.  Some of the letters are from years ago and some are from this year, but they all hold a special memories and places in my heart.  They lift me up when I am down and make me cry when I need I just need to cry.  They cost the giver nothing, but a moment of their time.

As I began to think about this post and the “stigma” that comes with being a gift person.  I looked to the Bible and what it said about gifts.  After much study, I think that God is a gift’s person too.  He desires for all the people of the Earth above all else to GIVE our worship to him and him alone.

And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you.
Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable.
This is truly the way to worship him.
Romans 12:1

Not only does he enjoying receiving our gift of worship, but He GIVES freely to his children.  Man that is a big one!!! I find my self humming the hymn “Count your Blessings”.  We have so much to be thankful for and those were all GIVEN to us by our loving Father.

“My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me:
and I give to them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any one pluck them out of My hand.
My Father, who gave them to me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of My Father’s hand.”
John 10:27-29
 
“Every good gift and ever perfect gift is from above,
and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.”
James 1:17

So, with this new found knowledge about the character of the Father,  I am going to stand proud in my gifts person status.  I am going to continue to cherish the gifts that I receive from friends and family, but I am going to also take my cues from the ultimate gifts person – the Father.  Giving first to Him the gifts that He desires, my undivided worship and giving to others the gift that I hold most precious – the gift of a life eternal.

2014-10-07 10.13.56

Leave a Reply

