Living a Life Unexpected

New Year’s Resolution

on January 2, 2015

Christmas2014

 

The house is quiet again.  The hustle and bustle of the Christmas season has come to an end.  There are no more gatherings with friends to celebrate Christmas, no more Christmas parties at school, or Christmas plays to attend.  It is just quiet!  This morning in that cherished quietness, I began to think about what the new year was going to bring and what resolutions that I wanted to make this year.  I am no different than most I will make the traditional resolution to try to get more exercise and just like most I will probably not meet my lofty goal.  Even though this year, I am truly going to give it my best effort.

Like many Christians, I will have a resolution to study my Bible more, share more, memorize more scripture, have a longer quiet time, start a prayer or thankfulness journal.  These are the resolution that in the quietness of the morning, I began to think about.  I want my “Christian” resolutions to be something that I don’t just forget about when I am too tired, too stressed, too busy or just too lazy.  These are things that I should jump to do out of praise to the Father who gave HIS SON for me.  I do not want them to be a chore that I check off of my resolution to-do list and they should not be.

We normally do not have to make resolutions to spend more time with people that we love, we just spend more time with them BECAUSE we love them.  If we truly love the Father then we should desire to spend more time with Him, learn more about Him, and thank Him just BECAUSE we love Him.  It should not require a resolution.  So, this year I am not going to make a “Christian” resolution.  I am just going to do what the Father has commanded me to do in his word, BECAUSE I love Him and am so thankful for the ultimate sacrifice that He made for me.

This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you will be careful to do according to all that is written in it.  For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.  Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous.  Don’t be frightened, do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.  Joshua 1:8-9
I have stored up your words in my heart, that I may not sin against you.  Psalms 119:11
Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.  1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

May you shine this year so that others can see Jesus in you!
Leave a Reply

