Living a Life Unexpected

Lessons From a Lizard

on April 27, 2015

As many of you all know, we have a lot of critters in our backyard, but my favorites have to be the lizards. We have an entire family from very small to almost too big.  I love to watch them playing in the backyard! Mainly, they are just trying their best to avoid our cat, who thinks that they are her personal play toys, but amazingly she rarely kills one.  The other day as I was watching this one little lizard, I reminded of  a valuable lesson.

This little lizard was trying his hardest to climb our drying rack. For those of you who have not seen a drying rack or might not even know what one is, it is a metal rack that we put our clothes on to dry in the sun. As you can imagine, he was not having a lot of luck and despite jumping quiet high, he would just slide right back down. He did this for about 10 minutes before he decided to just lay in the grass below the rack, probably out of exhaustion. The lizards love to be high up! They are always on the boys bike seats or wheels, in the top of the bushes or flowers, and occasional in the top of my curtains, but this little lizard was forced to stay in the grass where he was more exposed to the cat’s attack.

Believers are often much like that little lizard. When we find ourselves in a time of struggle or trail, we try everything in OUR power to get out of it. We scratch, we climb and we exhaust ourselves looking for the answer that is right there. You see, the rest of the story is that directly behind our drying rack sits a wooden ladder that is easy to climb and at any time you can find 4 or 5 lizards sunning themselves there.  The next time I find myself in a time of trail, I hope I remember the lesson I learned from the lizard, just turn around and grab a hold of the path that is easy and rest in the Son.

When I said, “My foot is slipping,” your love, O Lord, supported me.  When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul.
Psalm 94: 18-19
2015-03-31 10.39.42
Leave a Reply

